What Order to Read The Chronicles of Narnia

Being a beloved classic children’s book series, The Chronicles of Narnia follows the adventures of four siblings in the magical world of Narnia. One of the frequently asked questions by new readers is “What order to read The Chronicles of Narnia?” Fortunately, there are a few ways to approach the reading order based on individual preferences.

The most common approach is to read the books in publication order, which is the order that author C.S. Lewis released them: “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe,” “Prince Caspian,” “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader,” “The Silver Chair,” “The Horse and His Boy,” “The Magician’s Nephew,” and finally, “The Last Battle.” Another option is to read the series in chronological order, which begins with “The Magician’s Nephew,” followed by “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,” “The Horse and his Boy,” “Prince Caspian,” “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader,” “The Silver Chair,” and “The Last Battle.”

Generally, reading the series in publication order is the preferred way as it follows the sequence of books set forth by the author. However, some readers may prefer to read the series in chronological order to fully understand the overarching story, particularly for the first-time readers. Whichever order you choose, The Chronicles of Narnia promises to be an enchanting and magical journey that will delight readers of all ages.

The Recommended Chronological Reading Order

For those who are wondering what order to read the Chronicles of Narnia, the recommended chronological reading order is recommended. Chronologically observing the sequence of events in the books can help readers understand the storyline and the characters better.

The recommended chronological reading order of the Chronicles of Narnia is as follows:

  1. The Magician’s Nephew, which introduces the origins of Narnia and how it came into being.
  2. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe where readers first visit Narnia and meet the Pevensie siblings Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy.
  3. The Horse and His Boy takes the reader away from the Pevensies and introduces new characters with a different setting and a different adventure.
  4. Prince Caspian where Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy return to Narnia to help Prince Caspian take back his rightful throne.
  5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader where Edmund and Lucy, along with their cousin Eustace, embark on a voyage to discover uncharted territories.
  6. The Silver Chair proceeds with Eustace and his new friend Jill Pole being tasked to find Prince Rilian, who’s been missing for years.
  7. The Last Battle, which concludes the Chronicles of Narnia, where characters from previous books come together to defend Narnia from evil.

It is important to note that the books are written in a standalone format, and readers can technically read them in any order they wish. However, reading in chronological order can provide a better appreciation of the story and its characters.

In conclusion, readers are free to choose how to read the Chronicles of Narnia. However, for those wondering what order to read the series and get the full experience, the recommended chronological reading order is the best way to go.

When deciding the order to read the Chronicles of Narnia, it is important to note that there are two main orders: the original publication order and the chronological order. In this section, we will discuss the original publication order.

The original publication order of the Chronicles of Narnia is as follows:

  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
  2. Prince Caspian (1951)
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
  4. The Silver Chair (1953)
  5. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  6. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
  7. The Last Battle (1956)

It’s important to note that while The Magician’s Nephew was the sixth book published, it is actually a prequel to the rest of the series and provides important context and backstory.

Reading the books in the original publication order allows readers to experience the series as it was originally intended by author C.S. Lewis. It also allows readers to follow the narrative arc of the series, as certain events and characters build upon each other from book to book.

Overall, the original publication order is a great way to experience the Chronicles of Narnia for the first time. However, for those who have already read and are looking to reread the series, the chronological order may provide a new and interesting perspective.

If you’re wondering what order to read The Chronicles of Narnia, you’ve likely already come across the traditional publication order, reading the books in the order they were released. However, other reading orders exist that are worth considering. Here are a few other suggested reading orders:

  • Chronological order: This reading order follows the internal chronology of events in the Narnia universe, starting with The Magician’s Nephew and ending with The Last Battle. This order can provide a more complete and coherent understanding of the story’s timeline and characters. However, the first book in this order was not written first and may not be the best introduction to the world of Narnia.
  • The “HarperCollins” order: A third reading order that has gained popularity in recent years starts with The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, just like the traditional reading order, but groups the books according to their original publishing dates rather than their chronological sequence. According to this reading order, the series would conclude with The Magician’s Nephew, which provides a fitting prequel to the very first story in the series.
  • Mega-read order: For the most dedicated fans of the series, there’s the “mega-read”, which does not exclude any books. This order begins with The Magician’s Nephew, where Narnia was created, and ends with The Last Battle, where Narnia comes to an end. This order includes all seven books in chronological order, plus one additional book, The Horse and His Boy.

Ultimately, there is no definitive answer to the question of what order to read The Chronicles of Narnia. The choice between these reading orders will depend on the reader’s personal preferences and what they hope to get out of the series. Whether you decide to read in publication order, chronological order, or one of the other suggested orderings, you’re in for a magical journey into the land of Narnia!